Maxillofacial Skeletal Injuries: Defination

Defination: Fractures of the middle third of the facial skeleton
and/or the mandible are known as ‘maxillofacial skeletal injuries’.

How can we classify the facial skeleton?

The facial skeleton is divided into three parts:
1. Upper third—formed by the frontal bone.
2. Middle third—from the frontal bone to the level of upper teeth, or upper alveolus if patient is edentulous.
3. The lower third—the mandible.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *